

American Recovery and Reinvestment Act

Education Commission of the States • 700 Broadway, Suite 810 • Denver, CO 80203-3442 • 303.299.3600 • Fax: 303.296.8332 • www.ecs.org

Race to the Top Round II Finalists

July 27, 2010

Today, Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced 19 Race to the Top (RttT) round II finalists in a press conference with the National Press Club. The 19 finalists will travel to Washington, D.C. during the week of August 9 to present their proposals to the RttT judges. Winners will be announced by early September and awards should be disbursed by October. For more information please see the Department of Education Web site.

Round II Applicants	Round II Finalists	Round II Applicants Not Selected
Alabama Arkansas Arizona California Colorado Connecticut District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Illinois Iowa Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina Ohio Oklahoma Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina Utah Washington Wisconsin	Arizona California Colorado District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Illinois Kentucky Louisiana Maryland Massachusetts New Jersey New York North Carolina Ohio Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina	Alabama Arkansas Connecticut Iowa Maine Michigan Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Mexico Oklahoma Utah Washington Wisconsin